<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

marauder .22 accuracy problem

October 28 2009 at 1:12 AM
  (Login johnny366)
YF

i am new to the hpa shooting game and am really in need of some advice and tips from the guys in the know. i'm not going to mention any names because i'm not hear to attack or badmouth anyone. i sent the gun back and they are going to replace it. nuff said on that. my favorite pass time is squirrel hunting with an airgun. i own several mike melick tuned qb78's and a slew of scoped benji and dans. the squirrels are getting wary so i wanted something quiet. i bought a new marauder in .22, benji pump, scope and scope mounts. the gun came and as soon as i opened the outer box i started having questions. when i took out the boxed marauder i noticed the box was a little ragged with a couple of breaks and tears. it was also taped shut with the clear tape. the obvious staple holes were there but the staples had already been removed. i took the gun out and examined it. the wood looked great with no noticable marks. the metal was another thing. it had scratches and hanling marks on the receiver and tubes. i've read a good bit on the marauder and everything i've read led to believe this was the rifle for me, especially the accuracy. the first thing i'm told was to clean the barrel thoroughly. i used patches with goo gone sparingly pulled thru with fishing line from the breech end until the patches came out clean. before i cleaned the barrel i looked down it from the muzzle using a bore light. i noticed a scratch on the left side of the barrel about two inches long. this was a straight scratch going across the lands and grooves, not one twisting with it. after i cleaned the bore it was still there. i mounted the scope and mounts and took the rifle to the range after pumping it up to the recommended 2600 psi. i chronied a few shots and they were right on what i wanted to shoot this gun at 850 fps with 16.2 grain jsb exacts. i ordered an extra maga