PPD in Hair Dye
redhead
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Forum  

Same Allergic Reaction but no PPD?

April 28 2009 at 10:56 AM
No score for this post
azblonde  (Login azblonde)

Im 37 years old and I have been coloring my hair for 24 years now. I have been a variety of colors brown, black, red but for the last 10 years I have been a platinum blonde. Six years ago I had my first allergic reaction to bleaching my hair. I use the Lorel 40 volume peroxide and the Quick Blue ON scalp bleaching powder. I did my hair at home and washed it out in the shower. I had red, blotchy, itchy welts all over my body. I thought it was very strange but the welts went away very quickly (less than an hour) so I didnt give it much thought. Until the next time I colored.

I put the bleach on as normal and within a short time my face swelled up like a balloon. So much that I actually thought that my skin might split open because it was so tight and swollen. You couldnt see any definition of my nose. My eyes were practically swollen shut. My lips were so enlarged it was blocking me from breathing out my nose. My face, neck and chest were so red it made a tomato look pale. I washed it off immediately in the sink. My Mother called poison control. I wouldnt let her call 911 because I didnt want to go anywhere looking so hideous.(I know so vain!) They said take Benadryl which I did and was fine within 20 minutes. I wasnt giving up my blonde hair! So after that I just took Benadryl first before bleaching and problem solved. Or so I thought!