PPD in Hair Dye
redhead
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Forum  

Wella Color Charm with TDS

May 31 2010 at 11:12 AM
No score for this post
ppdphobe  (Login ppdphobe)

I am providing this information in case it helps anyone else who is looking for an alternative to PPD-based hair dyes and is wanting to try a TDS product. I've been coloring my hair myself for about 20 years now.

I have to start by saying that I am NOT allergic to PPD yet. However, the PPD allergy runs in my family and I am highly sensitive to a number of cosmetic ingredients.

Based on Gina's experiences with TDS (see some of the related posts from last year), I've stopped using hair color with PPD and switched to temporary dyes and TDS-based hair dyes. I've had mixed results with non-permanent dyes since my natural hair color is black, so I find that I periodically have to use an oxidative dye to get a natural look and counteract the purple from the temporary dyes.

Over the past year I have used Wella Color Charm demi-permanent hair color. It is a deposit-only color and its results are permanent on me. Wella Color Charm is available at Sally Beauty Supply stores throughout the US. Here are the ingredients for the 3N Dark Natural Brown (the color I use):
*Water, cetearyl alcohol, ethanolamine, laureth-3, sodium laureth sulfate, glyceryl stearate SE, toluene-2,5,-diamine sulfate, sodium sulfate, lanolin alcohol, sodium lauryl sulfate, hydroxyetheyl-3,4-methylenedioxyaniline HCL, beeswax, sodium cocoyl isethionate, 2-methylresorcinol, fragrance, sodium sulfite, m-aminophenol, ascorbic acid, etidronic acid, hydrolyzed keratin, limonene, coumarin, tocopherol*