PPD in Hair Dye
redhead
  << Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Forum  

Body itching all over!!

September 12 2011 at 4:48 AM
No score for this post
Lacey  (Login lacey73087)

I've been dying my hair black now for the past three years. I've always used loreal professional brand from Sallys beauty supply. But the last time I dyed my hair at home, I noticed my scalp broke out and was itchy all over. But I assumed I had just become distracted and left my dye on too long. So this time I went to my hair dresser and let her dye it, letting her know about my last incident and to make sure we didn't leave it on too long. She assured me that the black dye she uses was for sensitive skin, and she even added some Sweet & Low sweetener to the dye mix because she said it somehow helps sensitive skin. Long story short, besides a slight tingling, everything went smoothly until about 5 hours later, when I felt swelling around my ears and neck. I also felt an intense "heat" around my ears, almost like someone was holding a blow dryer to them! Then the weeping of my scalp came, followed by the intense itching. I immediately took an antihistamine, washed my hair with a neutralizing shampoo to get out any left over dye, then waited for my hair to dry a little, then parted it inch by inch and applied hydrocortisone cream to the weeping bumps on my scalp. Then I had to stay in bed for the whole day since the antihistamine made me so drowsy.