Return to Index  

I guess the average Protestant or Evangelical would not view me as one of them,

August 3 2017 at 7:43 AM
Tomas  (Login TomasSedlacek)

Response to Infidel

simply because I am not dogmatic that God is a trinity, I consider that only a possibility. And the average Protestant and Evangelical considers the trinity theory a necessary doctrine, many think that if you don't believe in the trinity, you are not even a Christian. Some would acknowledge I am a Christian, but would say I am not a Protestant.
But it could depend on how the term Protestant is defined. If you define it as Christians who protest against some Catholic doctrines and are not Orthodox, then I could qualify as a Protestant. Likewise if you define Evangelicals as Protestants who believe in evangelizing the unsaved, then I could qualify as an Evangelical. In any case, I am a non-denominational Christian. I currently attend worship services in a church of the Southern Baptist Convention, but I am not doctrinally qualified for membership in that congregation. Still, concerning doctrines on which Christians disagree with each other, I agree with the leadership of that congregation on most of them. It would be hard for me to find a congregation where I agree on even more doctrines. I was myself surprised when I recently listed doctrines of INC with which I disagree, I ended up finding so many. I would surely not find so many with this Baptist congregation.