Login  /  Register  
  Home  -  Forum  -  Classifieds  -  Photos  -  Links     

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Edelbrock streetmaster intake porting

July 4 2006 at 6:43 AM
Nick  (Login rcodecj)
Members

I have an Edelbrock streetmaster intake that is unported. I would like to send it to a professional porter to have ported. I am planning on running Edelbrock heads. It seems to me I would want to send the intake and heads to the porter, or would a template of the head be good enough? It also seems to me that you would want to know what the heads flowed in order to port the intake to match. If the heads were ported, then youd want to port the intake more right? Also any spacer that would be used on the intake would need to be included with the intake to port it, right? Does anyone know how much airflow a streetmaster will flow after porting? Im wondering at what point the streetmaster would not be able to be opened up to keep up with ported Edelbrock heads.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

(Login SAE1965)
Members

hmmm

July 4 2006, 7:19 AM 

If I remember right the Street Master is 1970's or 80's economy manifold??? You would be better off getting a Perf. RPM, shouldn't even have to do any port work with that one. What you would save in the port work may pay for the new intake.

Scott
1969 390 Mach 1
Visit the 1969 "S" code registry at:
http://www.1969scode.com

Respond to this message   

Jay Brown
(Login jaybnve)
Members

Surprisingly...

July 4 2006, 7:48 AM 

The Streetmaster did very well on a couple of previous intake comparisons on my dyno, outperforming the Performer RPM in HP in both a 385 HP non-CJ 428, and a 410 HP CJ engine. On the CJ, it picked up about 10 HP after a port match (which went about 2 inches into the port), and opening up the plenum per Edelbrock's original porting instructions for this intake.