Login  /  Register  
  Home  -  Forum  -  Classifieds  -  Photos  -  Links     

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

O/T..rejuvenating drag slicks?

June 15 2017 at 6:43 AM
jim carlson  (Login jbcarlson)
Members

I've been racing for about 25 years. Typically I go to 5 or so races per year with between 3 to 6 passes per race. I get really good life out of my 9 inch slicks on the Fairlane. I would say around 5 seasons. My latest slicks are from Hoosier and I purchased them 2 years ago. There is plenty of tire left as the holes are very deep. Normally I use Mickey Thompson, and the previous set to the Hoosier were Firestone (now Phoenix?). I've never had a problem with traction. Usually just purchase new slicks when the holes are disappearing.
Now I'm having all kinds of traction issues. It started last year and is getting worse. I had a buddy watch my burnout Tuesday and there is no smoke. The slicks aren't even sticky when I get back after a pass. My normal burnouts are not excessive, so I know I haven't burned them up.
Are Hoosiers prone to this? Can I use a compound to get back my traction? I've heard of guys doing this. What is used that works? I'm looking for a shortcut since time is short as I have a race June 24/25.
Jim

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Bill
(Login billjane)
Members

Forumla V

June 15 2017, 7:44 AM 

formula V we used a lot back in the day.
Don't know if it is still around.
Couple coats with a roller day before race day.
Ran the Hoosier's with 22lbs 1.55 60 ft 3920 Fairlane
Good luck

Bill

Respond to this message   
Dennis
(Login 65pony)
Members

Sticky Situation Help

June 15 2017, 8:37 AM 

Go to Jeg's and do a search for Tire Traction Compounds. Comes up with Formula V as well as PJ1 and RCI products. Can be shipped in time for your race. I have used the Formula V several years ago and it livened up a set of tires that got hard with age. Good stuff.

Respond to this message   

Dave Walters
(Login blueoval67)
Members