Login  /  Register  
  Home  -  Forum  -  Classifieds  -  Photos  -  Links     

<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

engine stand

October 7 2017 at 5:22 PM
Alan  (Login alf1960)
Members

Can any of you recommend a good engine stand for a 390? I am new at this and don`t want to get something that is not suitable. Sorry if this is kind of off topic , but I figured you guys would know if any one did.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Gerry
(Login gerryproctor)
Members

You don't need to spend a lot.

October 7 2017, 5:56 PM 

I got a four-leg stand (I suppose it's really a three-leg stand, like most are, with a wide spread front axle) from Harbor Freight for something around $50 and it works fine. Yes, you can spend a lot more for stands but if you're not doing this kind of work for a living, there are a lot of features, like gear-driven rotation, you can do without. As long as the stand has some reserve capacity for the most weight you're going to put on it, it will work. I don't recommend a three-leg stand with the single or narrow front wheel, even though they are stable in a static situation (three points of contact make a plane), but you have to be careful if you need to move it around. Yes, I have used those and never had a problem.

Respond to this message   
winr1
(Login winr1)
Members

I have a home made one and a 2000 lb one from Harbor freight ..

October 7 2017, 6:07 PM 

The Harbor Freight one has 4 legs, front ones fold up to store

It looks like an engine crane a bit

My brother bought a smaller one
A 340 block caused it to sag over night

Ricky.

Respond to this message   

Button
(Login cliffrod)
Members

Just be careful

October 7 2017, 6:14 PM 

A decent stand (think mine is a fairly inexpensive Big Red version from Autozone) is fine to support an all-iron FE. Mine is on one now. Being able to knock it down for storage is a big help.