Sir, I've wished i could, as I've learned much from KW, JWR,

April 21 2017 at 11:54 AM
James Dingle  (Login JamesDingle777)

Response to James, have you considered...

Crickets old videos and such. First problem is I have no camera. 2nd slight problem, is I'd have to have Wife edit and down load as we did NOT have computers in the 70's & 80's. My Kindergarten 5 year old is being exposed to words I never heard until 4-6th grade and all kinds of Computer knowledge. So point is I'm not very adept at the making although I am a very patient descriptive teacher.
Now, I personally haven't checked You tube to see if it's already been done; but I would think it has. There's not many improvements you HAVE to do to any Hill. You CAN upgrade the o-rings. There's many others on here more qualified than I to give that info. Consider that all Hill Kits were $35.00 for years. Now, they are sold for $14.95 and they are the SAME quality o-rings. IF one were to use the absolute best o-rings for an entire rebuild, i.e. best friction/heat bearing static rings, and best hardest sealing non static/friction bearing rings for pure air seal, I would think all top notch possibly custom slightly over sized ones would cost the $35.00 that the original over priced kit cost. In reality, I've owned 4 Hill pumps and NEVER had to rebuild ONE, EVER! I did take it down, inspect for rust, o-ring wear, relube with 100% silicone grease, and IF anything needed a super fine polishing did that also. I've never had one fail. Now, Benjamin's, sorry to say but I was rebuilding 1 of the 8 I've owned at least once every 2 months. Tolerances just are horrible and inferior o-rings.