<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

Questions about Air tanks, ie scuba and carbon fiber

August 12 2009 at 12:21 AM

(Login TerrySS)
YC

I'm new to the high pressure tank scene. Can someone answer a few questions for me?
1. What is the useful life of an air tank, in years?
2. How long is a hydro good for?
3. Can a tank be refilled indefinitely as long as the hydro is good? 10 years, 20 years?
4. What kind of fitting do I need to fill a Talon SS with a carbon fiber tank, or a scuba tank?
Thanks, Terry

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

(Login Hakalaka)
YC

Air tanks-Hydros,lifespan,etc..

August 12 2009, 2:12 AM 

Hydro:
Carbon fiber(Carbon Fiber wrapped aluminum)-5 years hydro(SCBA)
Aluminum/steel-3 years(SCUBA)
Fiber wrapped aluminum(fiberglass)-3 years hydro(SCBA)

Life span:
Carbon Fiber:15 years(SCBA)D.O.T hasn't extended yet to inconclusive testing(they haven't been around long enough).
Aluminum/Steel: Unlimited(as long as it passes hydro).
Fiber wrapped:15 years same as CF

Pros/Cons:
Carbon Fiber:Pro/lighter,longer hydro;Con/lifespan/pricey
Aluminum/Steel:Pro/lifespan;Con/weight/capacity
Fiber wrapped:Pro/lighter than solid aluminum/steel,longer hydro;Con/lifespan same as CF, a little more expensive than SCUBA bottle

Capacities/most commonly used for PCP's:
Carbon Fiber: 88scf/4500psi,66scf/4500psi,44scf/4500psi, and smaller ie:13scf are pony bottles for a minor recharge in the field.

Aluminum/steel:Standard Divers bottle is I believe a 80scf,3200psiMax(most dive shops fill to 3000psi).Luxfer does sell one that accomadates 4500psi,but I think it would be more cost prohibitive than getting a 88 CF tank.You'd have to do a search on the Net to check availability and price for the Luxfer tank.