<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>Return to Index  

electric compressor for PCP airgun

June 29 2010 at 11:31 AM
new2gun  (Login new2gun)
YC

Hello, I am new to PCP and have got an Evanix .22 Renegade. After using the hand pump for a few times, I decided that it's too tiring for me so I am looking into the possiblity of getting a small electric pump that can do about 150 bars. May I have some recommendation pls ? thanks in advance.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
LexingtonGreg
(Login LexingtonGreg)
YF

Have you done any research?

June 29 2010, 11:43 AM 

Because its not like a conventional 125 psi garage compressor. And there's certianly sticker shock. You're gonna need about $3000.00 give or take 500. And just so you know its not a typing mistake, that's three thousand dollars.

This why I consider PCP technology to still be in its infancy. Hand pumps are expensive and have a bad track record for long term durability, powered compressors are priced in the stratosphere, and the scuba tank route just sounds...exhausting, between hydros and refills.

I don't understand why someone can't come up with a compressor that's smaller, 110v compatable, slower running (via gear reduction...thus more torque), and liquid cooled that could say, fill a 180cc gun like a Marauder in 10 minutes. Have models available with an (exchangeable) cutoff switch for 220bar, 200bar, and 150bar.

If a hand pump was more reliable, I think I could have a 110v mechanical rig built (by your average bubbas at a machine shop) to cycle the pump with an electric motor for less than $3000. Say, maybe 1 stroke every 10 seconds.

Respond to this message   

JohnnySweden
(Login JohnnySweden)

Why only 110V....?

June 29 2010, 1:45 PM 

Instead of normal 230V...?

http://airpang.bloggplatsen.se/

Respond to this message   

(Login LexingtonGreg)
YF

110 volt is the standard in the United States

June 29 2010, 3:25 PM