<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>  

FFP scope owners - What has been your technique in determining holdover?

August 12 2017 at 9:57 PM

dave cole  (Login tulsaairguns)
YF12

I hope this makes sense……

How are you that are using FFP scopes, determining how much hold over to use on a target beyond your zero?

I have been using Hawke Sidewinders for the last several years and they have served me well. Using Chairgun, I’ve been able to create accurate holdover charts for all of my guns.

I have recently purchased an Athlon Optics 6-24x50 Argos BTR Tactical Rifle Scope, FFP Ill. ATMR Reticle, 1/4 MIL wanting to dip my toe into the world of FFP scopes and see what kind of benefits they offer me, if any.

Obviously, the FFP as opposed to the SFP, there’s not graphs you can create (i.e. Chairgun, etc.) to refer to, estimating hold over for a given magnification because of the obvious differences between FFP and SFP.

As a point of reference, I zeroed my gun at 50y, shot at 100y and if it were Sidewinder, it would have been a 4 mildot holdover and with the Athlon, it was a 3 mildot. That said, Chairgun doesn't parallel holdover.

Are you guys testing at various distances for your results or is there an app or program that would allow me to generate holdovers?

I understand the mechanics and functionality of FFP scopes. What I'm needing to know is, how are you determining your holdover?

Thanking you in advance.

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply
Scott Hull
(Login Scotchmo1957)
YF

I'm not a FFP scope user, but I...

August 13 2017, 1:54 AM 

know how ChairGun works and how to convert angles.

You can use the Generic Mil-Dot in ChairGun to model any reticle with constant subtension spacing. Let's assume that the ATMR reticle is a true MOA reticle:

A milliradian is 0.0573 degrees
An MOA is 0.01667 degrees

The magnification for a SFP Mil-dot scope is 10X. ChairGun varies the subtensions according to the "Scope Mag" setting.