<< Previous Topic | Next Topic >>  

Precision at longer distances???

November 11 2017 at 12:24 PM
bReTt  (Login CBPeter)
YC

Hey all!

I am wondering if real precision shooting can be done at longer distances (40 yards +) with sights other than a scope. I’m talking about that .5” consist group or hitting a dime sized dot at that distance and doing it with confidence, not just chance. All of this is assuming that the rifle and shooter are capable of course.

I can see clearly where I am aiming on a small target with a 20x scope and fine reticle at 50 yards but is that possible with anything other then a scope?

Aperature sights? Iron sights? something else?

Would it be possible if the actual aim point was larger at those distances so it could be visible and repeatable?

I’m new to thinking about this... maybe some of you are already doing this with good success. Any tips, tricks or suggestions are appreciated.

Many thanks airgunners!
Brett

This message has been edited by CBPeter on Nov 11, 2017 2:19 PM

Respond to this message   
AuthorReply

Terry M
(Login sotol)
YF

As for me,

November 11 2017, 12:31 PM 

I can't even see a dime size dot at 40 yards, let alone hit it. I have to have glass.

Respond to this message   
BillE.
(Login garczar)
YF12

Re: Precision at longer distances???

November 11 2017, 12:48 PM 

Its HIGHLY unlikely that anyone will shoot 1/2" groups(offhand or bench) at 40yds. with ANY type of open sights. Not saying it can't be done but the odds of doing it ARE NOT good to say the least.
"\"\""

Respond to this message   
Jason
(Login nervoustrigger)
YF12

Right, can't hit what you can't see...

November 11 2017, 1:37 PM 

But if you want to stack the deck a bit, make a huge circle on a sheet of paper and use an aperture sight. You might surprise yourself. We are pretty good at judging two concentric circles.

Respond to this message   
bReTt
(Login CBPeter)
YC

That’s what I was thinking Jason.

November 11 2017, 2:19 PM