To go back to the home page, please click the link for www.kegelmaster.pro or www.MyKM.com

Return To Top   

Use of the KegelMaster Post-Op

September 19 2009 at 11:43 PM
SJM 

Response to Women with the most severe prolapses have waited too long - here's why.

Hello everyone! I’ve been using the KM for almost 8 years. I’m 55 years old, and the KM is a key component in my life for staying healthy, fit and sexy! Using the KM almost completely eradicated the stress incontinence I had 8 years ago (yes, within 2 weeks, like everyone says), but my uterine and rectocele prolapses were too far gone to be reversed. After much research, and consultation with two different surgeons, I eventually decided to go ahead with surgery.

Exactly 3 years ago I had a supra-cervical hysterectomy (I retained my cervix and ovaries,just the main part of the uterus was removed), my bladder was lifted and the urethra tightened, and a rectocele was repaired. The hysterectomy and bladder repair were done using laporoscopy, and the rectocele trans-vaginally. Overall, the surgery was highly successful, though not without some post-op issues. In hind sight these could have been avoided, but eventually things got worked out. Surgery IS serious, and if one can avoid it – great. If you are, as Sari states, too far gone, then try very hard to find a surgeon who does laporoscopy. It's so much easier on your body and recovery is very fast! I was back running a couple of months after surgery (my surgeon actually said I could start running right at 6 weeks, but I held off for other reasons), and ran a half marathon with no trouble 6 months post-surgery (and continue to do one or two every year; I'm only restricted by my lack of time for training).