my qualifications

by Julie Stevens (no login)

No offense taken and I don't mind answering the question. My qualifications would be that I was in the original run of "Annie" twice - in a National Tour in 1980 (playing Tessie) and the Broadway Cast (as Pepper) from 1982 until it closed in January of 1983. I played Star-to-Be (a featured ensemble role) in a revival production in 1991, directed by Bob Fitch, the original Broadway Rooster and starring many of the adult cast members from the original Broadway production. I have been a professional working actress since the age of 9 and continue to audition and perform on stage as an adult. I am a card-carrying member of 4 Unions - Screen Actor's Guild, AFTRA, Equity and the Director's Guild. I was hired by and worked with the current NETworks "Annie" tour director, Martin Charnin, several times and interviewed him extensively for the documentary film I directed and produced about "Annie," called "Life After Tomorrow." In fact, if you rent the film, Martin talks a lot about what he looks for when he casts children, which is included in the bonus footage on the DVD.

As for the current NETworks tour, I have advised and coached many families who have gone on to be cast in the 3 years the tour has been running. I have seen the tour every year since it began and feel confident that I can offer valid advice and direction for anyone auditioning for the show. I would consider myself somewhat of an expert on the show and know it inside and out. I created this website, annieorphans.com, and have been moderating this chat board for over 8 years. Many of the families with children who have been in professional productions of "Annie" are frequent readers and posters on this forum.