Return to Index  

To give my opinion,.....

April 27 2001 at 3:01 PM
  (no login)

Response to Buzz vs Twilo

I think you need to take a look at exactly where the roots of both spots come from. Now I am no expert on Buzz, but it seems to me the music there is more grounded into techno, d-n-b, and very progresive house.
I personally don't think that those are fields where a lot of "artists" come in and perform. (i.e. singers and such) Those genres are dominated and produced by people who are mostly DJ/producers. And I do think they do a good job of bringing in international talent. But it just doesn't lend itself to being something more than just a DJ spinning. Now the other place, I can totally give an expert opinion on. The type of music that can be found at twilo is predominately soulful, garage, disco house which, because of it nature, has "artists" who are the main focal point of the music. Yes, of course you have the dj/producers who create the tracks but the vocal stimuli is provided by the "artist". These 'Respect is burning' nights at Twilo were predicated by the nights at the Soundfactory Bar in the village of NYC (90-94).