Return to Index  

Copied from another site that should be shared with all...

October 5 2001 at 4:19 AM
  (Login SgtDad)
Hospice and Palliative Nurses Association
from IP address 207.22.86.162

Not mine but it speaks so clearly and closely to what
my thoughts are and have been.

September 2001
To: My Leaders, To Congress, and To America.
I am a soldier. I am America's military. 19 some years ago, I raised my right hand and pledged to defend
America and its way of life. I agreed to follow the orders of those appointed over me. This is a vow I took
of my own free will. It was a decision I made on my own. No one held a gun to my head.There was no
promise of a life of happiness or prosperity. I joined for my own reasons and have served to see them
through. Many times during my enlistment have our forces deployed. Students hugged soldiers as we
"invaded" Grenada. It was an Island not many had ever heard of. We saw all the triumph on television
and could only ask, "What happened?" It was over before it began, and yet soldiers gave their lives.
Panama took a little longer. It was built up in the defense and we eventually went in force to oust the
government there. Again, soldiers died. Over the past nineteen years, America has sent soldiers in rapid
reaction to various threats to our liberty and the freedom of others. We have responded to the cry of
oppressed people around the world.
In Mogadishu, soldiers died performing a mission they were ordered to carry out. Our presence there has
often been questioned, even within the military.The outcome is still the same. Soldiers were sent.
Soldiers died.
Today, America again faces the issue of sending soldiers. I heard a representative from the senate during
an interview saying, "I don't want to send our soldiers". I am a soldier. Send me.
This time, terror has hit our homeland. Send me.
This time, the fight has killed thousands of innocents in an instant.The bad guys aren't off in a foreign