Shop Manual Follow up.... oh, and the Chrysler from hell for those that remember.

by goldie

Some of you may remember my car posts last year about this time. Actually it was on Thanksgiving day when it happened... wow.

Anyhow, long story short.

Fall of '16 we bought a car. I should say my wife bought a car, but I shouldn't have let her. It's a Sebring with what i didn't know at the time was the dreaded 2.7liter engine. It's infamous, and if I'd spent 2 minutes researching I would have known to run away from it instead of letting her get it.

The day we got it home it was leaking antifreeze. I'm no super mechanic these days, but started working on engines on the farm when I was in grade school. It's not hard to tell what antifreeze is. Called the dealer (shady guy buying cars from the local auction and selling them immediately.) and after trying to blame us, he "replaced the radiator". Then when I talked to him, he told me that it wasn't the radiator, but that it was the green stuff that's in the air conditioner coolant. Either way it was "fixed".

Within a couple of weeks we were traveling for Thanksgiving. The first trip of over 30 miles we'd put on it. It overheated going down the hwy and blew up by the time we got pulled over and stopped. It ended up basically getting the top half of the motor rebuilt.

I'm putting things together in my head and thinking, radiator leak + overheating = stop leak. I couldn't prove it, but I guarantee that the "dealer" dumped some stop leak in it and it clogged something up to cause the overheat. The mechanic claimed he didn't find anything faulty other than the water pump had some wiggle in the pulley which leads me to think it was stop leak even more.